• Hi Guest!

Please share Talk Jesus community on every platform you have to give conservatives an outlet and safe community to be apart of.

Support This Community

Thank You

• Welcome to Talk Jesus

A true bible based, Jesus centered online community. Join over 12,500 members today

Register Log In

Yeshua: Name Above All Names!

Yeshua: Name Above All Names! ~ I know those are fighting words for some people (either for or against), but I am hoping for a serious discussion on the topic. I am posting this in the Bible Study Hall because I am studying it, and seeking prospective. I am not inviting argument or dogma.

Before I continue, it may be helpful to understand a little about where I am coming from.

I am not a "Sacred Names" person. In fact, I only recently began to understand what that actually means.

I have been a foreign missionary for 40 years. I have spread the gospel in 52 countries, and have spent the last 25 years with the very poor in the Philippines.

I believe in home fellowships (rather than religious institutions) as I believe people grow better and are better ministered to in smaller groups.

I live in a country where:
  • Most people are Roman Catholic.
  • Jesus means a statue nailed to a cross.
  • Jesus is the names of TWO different cult leaders, who both claim to be the incarnate son of god.
  • Jesus is the name of my neighbour, and many men and boys.
  • I can never go to the Mall without seeing an American "missionary" from the "Church of Jesus Christ" (LDS).

The other day, my friend Alan B. got some kind of computer generated form letter asking for a donation. We have all seen these. Throughout the letter it used his name in different ways, like, "Dear Bro. Allen", now notice that Alan is spelled Allen. At one point it talks about the friendship he has with the ministry. He stated that they were obviously not friends, "because friends and family know how to spell my name."