• Welcome to Talk Jesus Christian Forums

Celebrating 20 Years!

A bible based, Jesus Christ centered community.

Register Log In

Hebrew study for beginners

Hello all, I've been thinking about studying the basics in biblical hebrew and would like to know if anyone woud like to attempt this with me?
I'm fairly new to researching and studying and need to study for free and find a way to teach myself as much as possible. Anyone interested?

Loyal
Hello all, I've been thinking about studying the basics in biblical hebrew and would like to know if anyone woud like to attempt this with me?
I'm fairly new to researching and studying and need to study for free and find a way to teach myself as much as possible. Anyone interested?
Not for myself
but one member here @Rhema is a student of Hebrew and Greek.
You could private message him.

Not for myself
but one member here @Rhema is a student of Hebrew and Greek.
You could private message him.
messaging is not working atm. thank you for your response. Im just starting with the alphabet and hope to make the study of hebrew a life long journey.

Active
messaging is not working atm. thank you for your response. Im just starting with the alphabet and hope to make the study of hebrew a life long journey.
Why not Aramaic? (Seriously.)

I appreciate the shout-out by @Waggles but have always been quick to admit that Hebrew makes my head hurt. Decades ago I could wander down the hall to the Semitic Languages department if I ever had trouble, but there have only been a few passages where I consider Hebrew to be crucial for understanding just how the Christian translators messed it up.

I consider Hebrew to be a guttural tribal language, and it is extremely difficult to express complex ideas and nuance in Hebrew. It's been enough that I can get by with Greek, and am grateful that the LXX exists.