• Welcome to Talk Jesus

A true bible based, Jesus centered online community. Join over 11,000 members today

Register Log In

I've just started studying the Bible

Users who viewed this discussion (Total:0)

...and I wanted to ask if this is a good study plan. I have a small notebook, which I don't normally use. So I have the tools.

First, I write the book that I am currently studying, the chapter, the date, then to most verses I find related verses from other books (don't overestimate me they're written under most verses). To some verses I write some main a ideas or a very short summary. In the end I write a summary. Then I read the chapter again. The final step is the easiest. I read the same chapter, but in my second Bible, which is in my native language.

Here's an example of a session(--> = related verse):

Exodus (10.01.2010)

Exodus 1 (10.01.2010)

Exodus 1:5 --> Genesis 46:26
Exodus 1:8 - new egyptian king
--> Acts 7:18

Summary

So is this a good study technique? Any suggestions?
God Bless!

Studying by subject is good if you have read the Bible a few times and have a good basic grasp on it. Everyone has a different approach, personally I read the New Testament 2x's for every one spent in the Old . When God speaks to me about a particular subject then I peruse that subject.
I find it important to journal while I read. Sometimes I get what seems to be random glimpses into the Word but when I go back and look over the notes I find they tie in together like pieces in a puzzle.
No matter the way you choose to study do it consistently.
The #1 most important thing to do is this:
Holy Spirit breath on this Word. Show me what it means and how to apply it in my life.
The # 2 most important: when God speaks to you through the Word take that Word by faith and walk it out.Let it become your life-ology not your theology.
Have a great time Panda, post and share what the Lord shows you.
Many blessings in His Name,
your brother Larry.