Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Facebook Tweet Share
shares
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,520
    Gender
    Male
    Post Likes

    Upset about peoples opinions

    Hi,
    I have been reading and talking with people about certain topics discussed here on TJ and it has upset that people refuse to "come all the way" and explain and prove their views from scripture in a way you could agree with them in the light of the bible. Unfortunately this is not often so. Many people seem to be just interested in showing their view about a topic and I think this is ok but when they want to argue without waterproof scripture evidence. it really upsets me.


    Sometimes I ask people how do they know this is like they say and there is never no answer and always when I ask for evidence the people leave just so they can come back with their view thats not yet disproven.

    Whats up with this?

    Why do people claim things true when challanged they cannot prove it all the way? and rather leave their view partially a mystery even to them self and yet preach it again!


    I dont understand. I think most depates have people who dont claim to know but argue anyway for their perhaps merely potential view but not about something they can prove. I dont judge, i think it just creates a lot of debates around here. Good thing about TJ has requirement to backup what you say with scripture although many people dont seem to be interested in scripture but rather what they feel is right in the first place. But thats a whole another story.

    What do you think? Shouldnt post be backed up with scripture more?
    Last edited by jari; 07-10-11 at 08:46 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Branson, MO
    Posts
    1,339
    Gender
    Male
    Post Likes

    Post Backed by Scripture.

    Jari... That is Rule Number seven on these forums...

    7. Provide Scripture when making a biblical point

    You run into this all the time where people learn a few things and come here and post.. but when you call them out and ask question they give you the run around, get offended, or never respond...

    I would like some standard where questions about someone's doctrine must be answered with Scriptures.... Lots more work on the mod's, but it would be more helpful for those that don't think they know it all to learn....

    Right now I am waiting on a response about the resurrection and how it relates to a post or pre trib rapture...

    waiting on a response about... if you don't pray in tongues your not saved

    and was ignored by a few in my response to "God makes you sick thread" meaning they were not humble or had enough revelation in the Word to respond in the first place..

    It's frustrating, but things in the Bible study thread should be for the serious students to ask questions, post what they have believed with scripture and able to receive correction..

    Jesus Is Lord.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,520
    Gender
    Male
    Post Likes
    Yes and the rule isnt obeyed enough.
    And i think many false doctrines would be left unposted if the people would have to use scripture to back it up......

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    In God's Presence
    Posts
    5,046
    Gender
    Female
    Post Likes
    Grace and Peace

    The thing is people do use scripture to back up their statements and thats the problem. We should not be using the bible to prove we are right or someone else is wrong.

    We need to come together as a family and study what the word says, examine if what we believe lines up with scripture.

    We have people from difference backgrounds and cultures so patience is needed. We have people who are overly sensitive and will take the slightest correction or response as insult. Patience and love is needed. If we are sitting around eager for someone to respond something is wrong. Becoming an emotional poster is dangerous to any conversation. The flesh rises giving birth to pride and anger. You can always tell when this is happening the mood changes, you're on your toes. People need to learn to step away from a topic when they become emotionally attached, and not respond in anger or when feeling offended.

    It's good when false doctrines are posted, it gives those who know the truth to share some light. Censorship is not the solution for it's not what's being said is the problem it's how it's being said. We need the discussions it forces us to study and do research. We might think it's all one big fight or debate but I'll tell you this it's a learning ground. Members and visitors are reading it and seeds are being planted. It's not about having the final word or being right or wrong.. it's about finding truth and learning something.

    These discussions should not provide food for gossip. Never should members team up against members because they " feel " that certain member is not listening. I see it and I can smell the pride. Respect each other and give each person room to express themselves. Talk with them privately if you need to. Division is not needed, there's no joining conversations to help a friend debate another..or being your friend's bodyguard or mouth piece.

    L.O.V.E
    Every intention and motive should be rooted in love. The problem is everyone wants to be heard and no one is humble enough to let the other speak.

    When every member pray before posting all emotions will be left outside.

    When every member acknowledge there's a human behind the computer there will be proper discussions.

    When gossip cease misunderstood members would feel welcome and have no need for reports being filed on them. For we would try harder to get to know them, love them and respect them. Then they in return will accept correction and truth from the love we showed to them.

    When members remove self and pride from the equation, their goal would be to bring glory to God and not glory to themselves to be seen as right.

    This is an international forum filled with beautiful people from every walk of life. Our opinions are shaped and fashioned by our environments and culture. I don't believe in war or support it and thats my right to that opinion should I be debated on it sure, am I right ? I would hope so but I respect those who do support war. I'm around people with all types of opinions and it's because I respect their opinion that I have the opportunity to share my faith with them.

    Respect each other, be willing to listen and correct with love. At the end of the day it's not about me or you, it should be about bringing glory to God.
    Truth is stranger than Fiction-unknown
    Test all things -1Thess5:21

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,520
    Gender
    Male
    Post Likes
    Yes I agree Rizen. Honestly I wish people who dont show respect to others would be comforted by TJ staff because there's few people in particular who send very hard to understand messages over and over again. Now I mean no harm for these brothers but if people are allowed to push their agenda it its one the things that upsets me most.

    Hmm maybe I should just PM these brothers but I dont want to try and control the forums my self but leave it for staff.

    Of course we all have opinions we stick to but i feel like some people ignore any responses just so they can keep on with their agenda.
    And this causes division and confusion and is what upsets me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,762
    Gender
    Male
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Brother Mike View Post
    Jari... That is Rule Number seven on these forums...

    7. Provide Scripture when making a biblical point

    You run into this all the time where people learn a few things and come here and post.. but when you call them out and ask question they give you the run around, get offended, or never respond...

    I would like some standard where questions about someone's doctrine must be answered with Scriptures.... Lots more work on the mod's, but it would be more helpful for those that don't think they know it all to learn....

    Right now I am waiting on a response about the resurrection and how it relates to a post or pre trib rapture...

    waiting on a response about... if you don't pray in tongues your not saved

    and was ignored by a few in my response to "God makes you sick thread" meaning they were not humble or had enough revelation in the Word to respond in the first place..

    It's frustrating, but things in the Bible study thread should be for the serious students to ask questions, post what they have believed with scripture and able to receive correction..

    Jesus Is Lord.
    I think the key words here are "should be for the serious students to ask questions". I have seen those who act like they are in need for understanding and ask questions to lure people into arguments. I don't see that as a good and positive trait that coincides with the perfect nature of God.

    I agree, if you have a question about the bible and are in serious need for understanding, TJ is the perfect place for help but those who are wolves in sheep clothing should find another place.
    " I'll see you here or I will see you up there or I will see you in the air"!.....Beam me up , Lord!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,520
    Gender
    Male
    Post Likes
    Yes I agree with RJ thats what upsets me too.
    I hope people would have more humble heart when talking about opinions of bible, its God's word, not our word and not our hobby. But we should hold on to knowing what everything means with open mind and not hold to our agendas in the expense of Truth - the message God has for us.


    2Ti 2:14-16 Of these things put them in remembrance, charging them before the Lord that they strive not about words to no profit, but to the subverting of the hearers. (15) Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. (16) But shun profane and vain babblings: for they will increase unto more ungodliness.
    Last edited by jari; 07-12-11 at 10:04 PM. Reason: Said more

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    51
    Gender
    Male
    Post Likes
    I just posted something like this not too long ago in 'What would you like to see on TJ?' I know I am new in Christ, but I am afraid to ask a question or put what little knowledge of the Bible I have out there because of all the arguing and harshness...I agree.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,520
    Gender
    Male
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by CookieRaider View Post
    I just posted something like this not too long ago in 'What would you like to see on TJ?' I know I am new in Christ, but I am afraid to ask a question or put what little knowledge of the Bible I have out there because of all the arguing and harshness...I agree.
    Sure you can always ask questions thats why we are here for.
    And you can answer them too but if your unsure if its correct just say so.

    The issue we have in here is when there's debates where everyone claims to be right.
    Last edited by jari; 07-13-11 at 11:41 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    In God's Presence
    Posts
    5,046
    Gender
    Female
    Post Likes
    If members truly prayer before posting they would realize some things are better left unsaid. There seem to be a need to " I must be the first to answer this " or " I'm right you are wrong "

    People who are different have the right to be here. People get banned and receive warnings but it's not something that needs to be publicized.

    Respect each other, respect those who think differently and stop trying to to challenge or debate those who do think differently. To many people try to hijack peoples threads not giving the person time to explain themselves.

    No one should be afraid to post.
    If everyone prays before they post their would be no pride, no anger or frustration.
    This is a non-denomination site and international site.

    Last edited by rizen1; 07-15-11 at 08:09 PM.
    Truth is stranger than Fiction-unknown
    Test all things -1Thess5:21

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Upset about peoples opinions
    By jari in forum Bible Study
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-11-11, 01:19 PM
  2. I'm so upset , please help
    By for christ in forum Counseling
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-28-09, 05:10 PM
  3. May all the Peoples Praise You
    By Gospelfever in forum Musicians
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-27-07, 07:17 PM
  4. Upset
    By HistoryMaker in forum Poetry
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-07-05, 06:55 AM

Thread Participants: 9

About us

Welcome to Talk Jesus Forums! If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You will need to register before you can post. Our Purpose: spread the Good News to the ends of the Earth [Mark 16:15]. We're also here to edify the church [Ephesians 4:11-12]. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. We love you and glad you are here!

 

ask & you shall receive...

Please feel comfortable and ask your questions freely in the appropriate forum. As a community, we will help you find the answers about Jesus / GOD, Bible, general life questions and so forth. We're here to support you and each other.

 

faq forum etiquette surprise me!

 

the evidence topical studies
let's socialize
our facebook friends
Facebook Tweet StumbleUpon Digg Email Print Share
shares